Share on Facebook
> Briefing Session on Pakistani Young Parliamentarians’ Study Tour to India

May 07, 2007
Hotel Serena, Islamabad


Young Parliamentarians, who accompanied a Parliamentary Study Tour to India in March 2007 under the auspices of PILDAT, shared their learning and experiences at a Briefing Session on Monday, May 07, 2007 at Hotel Serena Islamabad. The MPs specially talk about institutions that streamline Indian democracy including the Election Commission of India, the Indian Parliamentary procedures and the role of academics and thank tanks in influencing legislative agenda in India.


PILDAT organised the Study Tour of Young Pakistani MPs from March 26-31, 2007 with a special focus on their learning and interaction on Indian Parliamentary systems and procedures, the working of the Election Commission of India, the Role of Academicians and Think Tanks in India in influencing legislative and policy-making agenda and parliamentary support institutions working outside the sphere of government in India to assist the Indian MPs in their responsibilities of legislation, representation and oversight. The objective of the study tour was to orient Pakistani MPs to various institutions and systems that streamline Indian democracy and to learn lessons that can be applied to Pakistan for strengthening governance institutions. The study tour was supported by the British High Commission, Islamabad.


The Young Parliamentarians who accompanied the study tour and presented their learning at the Briefing Session included Mr. Nabil Gabol, MNA; President Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Dr. Atta-ur-Rehman, MNA; Vice President Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Dr. Donya Aziz, MNA; Secretary Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Ms. Asiya Nasir, MNA; Joint Secretary Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi, MNA; Treasurer Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Mr. Haroon Ihsan Piracha, MNA; Member Young Parliamentarians’ Forum; Syed Bakhtiar Maani, MNA, Member Young Parliamentarians’ Forum and Senator Hafiz Rasheed Ahmad, Member Young Parliamentarians’ Forum.