Share on Facebook
> General Meeting of the Young Parliamentarians Forum (YPF) of Pakistan
   15 Members Elected to the YPF Executive Committee
General Meeting of the YPF
December 29, 2003
Hotel Serena, Islamabad


PILDAT held a General Meeting of the Young Parliamentarians Forum (YPF) on December 29, 2003 at Hotel Serena, Islamabad. The meeting was held to finalise the Constitution of the YPF and elect members of the Executive Committee. According to the Constitution, the Executive Committee shall be the highest decision making body of the YPF. At this time, the YPF has a total of 47 members; 42 MNAs and 5 Senators.


The meeting was attended by 18 Members of the National Assembly. The constitution was approved unanimously and 15 members of the Executive Committee were selected by the participants. These are as follows:


Dr. Maulana Atta-ur-Rehman (NA-11, MMA); Maulana Shah Abdul Aziz (NA-15, MMA); Shahida Akhtar Ali (NA-329, MMA); Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi (NA-244, MQM); Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan (NA-286, PML(Q)); Eng. Muhammad Shahid Jamil Qureshi (NA-178, PML(Q)); Dr. Donya Aziz (NA-276, PML(Q)); Asiya Nasir (NA-340, MMA); Sanaullah Baloch (Senator, BNP(M)); Gul-e-Farkhanda (NA-320, NA); Mamoona Hashmi (NA-302, PML-N); Nabil Ahmed Gabol (NA-248, PPPP); Khalida Mohsin Qureshi (NA-176, PPPP).


The Young Parliamentarians Forum (YPF), consisting of MNAs and Senators who were 40 years of age or younger on the date of their election to the Parliament, was established on April 17, 2003 during the first Consultative Session of YPF. The newly elected Parliament has a large number of young members, and among them many first-time legislators. This provides an excellent opportunity to harness their enthusiasm and equip them with the skills and capabilities to better perform their representative, legislative and over-sight functions. PILDAT feels that the process of leadership development can start with these parliamentarians so that new traditions of democratic development can be established. The purpose of the Forum is to provide young parliamentarians with a platform where they can share and develop ideas, improve their legislative and leadership skills, and form inter-regional and inter-party networks. PILDAT intends to hold regular meetings with the Young Parliamentarians Forum and conduct workshops and seminars on issues of national and legislative importance.







L to R: Khuram Munawar Manj, Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Dr. Donya Aziz, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan, Shahid Jamil Qureshi, Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi and Dr. Atta ur Rahman


L to R: Shahida Akhtar Ali, Jamila Ahmed, Syeda Farhana Khalid Banuri, Asiya Nasir and Dr. Rozina Tufail


L to R: Khuram Munawar Manj, Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Dr. Donya Aziz, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan, Nabil Ahmed Gabol, Shahid Jamil Qureshi and Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi


L to R: Farhan Latif, Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Dr. Donya Aziz and Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan


L to R: Maulana Hamid ul Haq Haqani, Maulana Shah Abdul Aziz, Khuram Munawar Manj, Farhan Latif, Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Dr. Donya Aziz, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan and Nabil Ahmed Gabol


Newly elected members of the Executive Committee (STANDING L TO R): Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi, Dr. Atta ur Rahman, Maulana Shah Abdul Aziz, Nabil Ahmed Gabol and Shahid Jamil Qureshi. (SITTING L TO R): Asiya Nasir, Shahida Akhtar Ali, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan, Dr. Donya Aziz and Khalida Mohsin Qureshi