Share on Facebook
> Federal and Provincial Governments brief PILDAT Steering Committee on respective Achievements on Governance

May 29, 2014


On May 22, 2014, representatives of the Federal and 3 Provincial Governments, including Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab, shared their Governments’ respective achievements on governance with the PILDAT Steering Committee on Assessment of the Quality of Governance in Pakistan.


Representatives of the Governments joined PILDAT upon a special invitation to share details of the initiatives undertaken by each Government during its first year in office.


The Steering Committee is part of a new PILDAT initiative to assess the Quality of Governance in Pakistan both at the Federal and Provincial levels.


PILDAT, which has been working since 2002 to assess the quality of democracy in Pakistan by using both an indigenously developed criteria as well as employing an international framework, is now, in addition, carrying out a comparative assessment and Score Card on Quality of Governance at the Federal and Provincial levels. The first such comparative assessment and Score Card on Quality of Governance will cover the 1st year of the Federal and Provincial Governments elected through the 2013 General Election.


Representatives from the Federal and Provincial Government included Ms. Zakia Shahnawaz Khan, Minister for Population Welfare, Punjab, joined by Mr. Zaman Wattoo, Provincial Project Manager Strengthening Poverty Reduction Strategy Monitoring (SPRSM), Punjab; Mr. Shah Farman, Information Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa joined by Mr. Khaliq ur Rehman, MPA / Parliamentary Secretary, Mr. Bakhtiar Khan, Deputy Coordinator Reforms Implementation Cell, KP; Mr. Fawad Hassan Fawad, Additional Secretary PM Office and Mr. Kazim Niaz, Commissioner Zhob Division Balochistan.


Members of the PILDAT Steering Committee who joined the meeting included Mr. Abdul Hakeem Baloch, Political Analyst/Former State Minister for Railways, Mr. Salman Bashir, Former Foreign Secretary of Pakistan, Mr. Mohammad Feyyaz, Peace and Security Researcher, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Moinuddin Haider, Former Governor Sindh; Former Federal Interior Minister, Mr. Javed Ashraf Hussain, Former Chief Secretary Sindh, Mr. Arshad Saeed Khan, Former Senior National Specialist (Education), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) , Mr. Shamsul Mulk, Former Caretaker Chief Minister KP; Former Chairman WAPDA, Dr. Hafiz A. Pasha, Former Advisor to the Prime Minister, Mr. Ahmed Saeed Qureshi, Former Chief Secretary Sindh, Mr. Ghazi Salahuddin, Senior Journalist/Analyst, Dr. Shoaib Suddle, Former Federal Tax Ombudsman / Former I.G. Police, Ambassador (Retd.) Ayaz Wazir, Dr. S. Akbar Zaidi, Economist, Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President PILDAT and Ms. Aasiya Riaz, Joint Director PILDAT.