Share on Facebook
> PILDAT Launches Membership Process for 6th Youth Parliament Pakistan
    Invites Expressions of Interest by May 15, 2014

April 22, 2014


April 22; PILDAT is pleased to invite Expressions of Interest (EOI) for Youth Parliament Pakistan 2014.


For the 6th batch running, the Youth Parliament Pakistan, a PILDAT project that is successfully running since 2007, is aimed at strengthening democracy through fostering in young Pakistanis democratic values, the importance of dialogue, tolerance for others’ views, an understanding of the concept of Parliament and its role in democratic decision-making and oversight.


The Youth Parliament Pakistan draws its membership from young Pakistanis aged between 18-29 years on the basis of population through an open merit-based selection process from across Pakistan.


EOIs have been invited from applicants from Sindh, Punjab, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Gilgit-Baltistan, Azad Jammu and Kashmir and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA).


The YPP serves as a useful platform to voice young people’s concerns about a range of national and international issues and conveying these to the Pakistani Parliament and Government while also aiding their personal development as useful and involved citizens.


The final 60 members selected will go through an intensive parliamentary simulation that is patterned after the National Assembly of Pakistan, but also borrows from the idea of an ideal Parliament. This year’s carefully selected areas of interest and policy review include National Security, Energy, Foreign Affairs, Education and Youth Affairs, Transport and Finance, Economics and Planning Affairs. Each subject will be covered by a separate Standing Committee of Youth Parliament Pakistan.


An independent Steering Committee of Youth Parliament has been formed to oversee the selection process and the effective functioning of the Youth Parliament Pakistan. The committee comprises of Senator S. M. Zafar, Chairman Youth Parliament Pakistan Steering Committee; Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi, Former Deputy Speaker National Assembly of Pakistan and Patron of Youth Parliament Pakistan; Mr. Wazir Ahmed Jogezai, Former Deputy Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan; Engr. Khuram Dastgir Khan, Federal Minister for Commerce; Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan, State Minister for Information Technology; Mr. Nadeem Afzal Gondal, Former MNA; Mr. Murad Saeed, MNA; Ms. Shaza Fatima Khawaja, MNA; Ms. Maleeka Bokhari, Barrister at Law and Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President PILDAT.


The Expression of interest forms can be found in Urdu and English in PDF format online at www.youthparliament.pk. The last date to send the EOI is May 15, 2014.